Welcome to New York

Taylor Swift’s song ‘Welcome to New York’ is well…pretty cool! I had never been interested in her music before, but her album 1989 is a hit with me!

I thought “wow! NY must be an amazing place if there are such amazing songs about it” also thinking back to Alicia Keys’ song ‘New York’.

Since then I have been trying to work out what it is that people love about New York. To me, it seems like a large concrete jungle like any typical over-populated city. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy being around different cultures and eating good food, but all I think of about New York is ‘crowded, polluted, tiny apartments, expensive, and bleakness’.

There must be SOMETHING about it that attracts so many visitors though! I mean, that many people can’t be wrong. Right?

I’ve watched many documentaries on NYC, including You Tube videos where people strap their Go Pro on them while scooting around the city. All I saw was any typical, bleak city, with lots of cars tooting, very uneven roads, and somewhat miserable looking people. In fact, it reminded me very much of Melbourne city, except the more crowded and less tree-d version. All I thought when watching these was “I hope the government is investing in those roads” and “I wonder how many of the citizens have long-term health problems because of the smog”.

Maybe it’s just an amazing city for the wealthy – they can afford to partake on all of the ‘nicer’ NYC activities where glitz and glam exists, unlike the common people who find it difficult enough just to pay their rent for a tiny ‘studio’ apartment but are in pursuit of the NYC glitz and glam they are unlikely to ever reach, but try to satisfy themselves with selfies taken in front of Times Square. Long sentence, I know.

Maybe I’ll just take the plunge and go there one day. Maybe that love described in the songs is only experienced when you actually go there and see it for yourself. It’s a lot of $$ to risk though….

I might have to listen to the rest of the 1989 album and work out how trustworthy Miss Swift is.

Leave a Reply

